FR EN
Share this page

Alice CARRIER

PhD

    Group leader in the Cellular Stress team | Center for Cancer Research of Marseille (CRCM)

AMU, IPC, CRCM

Together, we pursue a simple goal: to better understand the alterations of energetic metabolism in pancreatic cancer cells

Marseille Immunopole is already a reality in our Cellular Stress laboratory directed by Dr Juan IOVANNA at the CRCM, where we conduct translational research programs in partnership with the medical teams of the IPC and APHM. Together, we pursue a simple goal: to better understand the alterations of energetic metabolism in pancreatic cancer cells and to set up preclinical trials in new adjuvant therapeutic strategies targeting this process and so overcome resistance to chemotherapy and radiotherapy.

Pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (PDAC) is a cancer that resists any therapeutic strategy. Despite advancing knowledge in the pathophysiology of PDAC, several unknown factors hinder the development of new clinical protocols. It is therefore urgent to unite against this threat to patients by combining expertise and approaches to better understand how this cancer works. For this reason, we are interested in the study of the metabolism of these tumors which in growth stage are able to make important metabolic changes by drawing on particularly mitochondria, primary producers of energy to satisfy their high requirements in  energy and in biomass.

The novel idea to target the “boilers” of the cells implicated in the survival of cancer cells, in order to break their resistance to chemotherapies, is today our contribution to improving clinical protocols favorable to enhancing patient outcomes.

#clinic

FR EN
Partager cette page

Alice CARRIER

PhD

    Chargée de recherche dans l'équipe Stress Cellulaire | Centre de Recherche en Cancérologie de Marseille (CRCM)

AMU, IPC, CRCM

Ensemble, nous poursuivons un objectif simple: mieux comprendre les dérégulations du métabolisme énergétique des cellules cancéreuses pancréatiques

Marseille Immunopole est déjà une réalité dans notre laboratoire Stress Cellulaire dirigé par le Dr Juan IOVANNA au sein du CRCM, où nous menons des programmes de recherche translationnelle en collaboration avec les équipes médicales de l’IPC et de l’APHM. Ensemble, nous poursuivons un objectif simple: mieux comprendre les dérégulations du métabolisme énergétique des cellules cancéreuses pancréatiques et mettre en place des essais précliniques de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques adjuvantes ciblant ce processus et ainsi vaincre les résistances aux chimio- et radio-thérapies.

L’adénocarcinome canalaire pancréatique (PDAC) est un cancer résistant à toute stratégie thérapeutique. Malgré quelques progrès dans la connaissance de sa physio-pathologie, de nombreuses inconnues bloquent le développement de nouveaux protocoles en clinique. Il est donc urgent de faire front contre cette menace pour les patients en combinant les expertises et les approches pour mieux connaître son fonctionnement. Pour cette raison, nous nous intéressons à l’étude du métabolisme de ces tumeurs qui en phase de croissance  sont capables d’opérer d’importants changements métaboliques en sollicitant notamment les mitochondries, premières productrices d’énergie pour satisfaire leurs fortes exigences énergétiques et en biomasse.

L’idée nouvelle de cibler les « chaudières » des cellules impliquées dans la survie des cellules cancéreuses, afin de briser leur résistance aux chimiothérapies, constitue aujourd’hui notre contribution à l’amélioration des protocoles cliniques favorables à la guérison des patients.

#clinique