FR EN

Emmanuelle CHARAFE-JAUFFRET

MD

    Department of Biopathology directed by Luc Xerri at the IPC | Co-Manager of the Experimental Histo-Pathology platform (ICEP) | Head of the Breast Cancer research group in the Molecular Oncology laboratory led by Daniel Birnbaum at the CRCM | Professor of Medicine at Aix Marseille University

AMU, IPC, CRCM

Our aim is simple: to position ourselves upstream of the diagnosis and to propose innovative treatments to patients

My work within the Biopathology department is essentially to make the diagnosis of patients treated at the hospital in order to direct the clinicians towards the most appropriate therapeutic solutions. To do this, we use morphological analysis techniques, immunohistochemistry, cytometry and cytogenetics to be able to define the architecture of diseased tissues and to detect “targets” that are likely to play a significant role in the development of the illness and on which we can act with targeted therapies.

We are however often faced with patients who present complex medical conditions that resist classic treatments: triple negative breast cancer, pancreatic cancer… The efficiency of personalized medicine therefore is based on greater interdisciplinarity at the crossroads of clinical and fundamental research programs, such as those we are conducting today in the ICEP experimental pathology platform in partnership with the CRCM and the DRCI. Our aim is simple: to position ourselves upstream of the diagnosis and to propose innovative treatments to patients that integrate the histological, cellular and molecular characteristics of their own tumor.

To have the best chance of success, we have established a partnership with Marseille Immunopole and its MI-mAbs platform for the discovery, development and validation of new biomarkers to facilitate the prediction of response to a given therapeutic indication, the therapeutic follow-up or the assessment of tumor prognosis.

#clinic #recherche

FR EN

Emmanuelle CHARAFE-JAUFFRET

MD

    Service de Biopathologie de l'IPC dirigé par Luc Xerri| Co-responsable de la plateforme d'Histo-Pathologie expérimentale (ICEP) | Chef du groupe de recherche Cancer du Sein dans le laboratoire d'Oncologie Moléculaire de Daniel Birnbaum au CRCM | Professeur de médecine à Aix Marseille Université

AMU, IPC, CRCM

Notre objectif est simple: nous positionner en amont du diagnostic et proposer au patient des thérapies innovantes

Mon activité au sein du service de Biopathologie consiste essentiellement à établir le diagnostic des patients pris en charge à l’hôpital pour orienter les cliniciens vers les solutions thérapeutiques les plus adaptées. Nous nous appuyons pour cela sur des techniques d’analyses morphologiques, d’immunhistochimie, de cytométrie et de cytogénétique permettant de définir l’architecture des tissus malades et de détecter des « cibles » susceptiblent de jouer un rôle important dans le développement de la maladie et sur lesquelles nous pouvons agir avec des traitements ciblés.

Nous sommes cependant souvent confrontés à des patients présentants des pathologies complexes résistantes aux traitements classiques : cancer du sein triple négatif, cancer du pancréas… L’efficacité de la médecine personnalisée repose donc sur une plus grande interdisciplinarité à la croisée des programmes de recherche clinique et fondamentale, telles que nous les menons aujourd’hui au sein de la plateforme de pathologie expérimentale ICEP  en collaboration avec le CRCM et le DRCI. Notre objectif est simple: nous positionner en amont du diagnostic et proposer au patient des thérapies innovantes intégrant les particularités histologiques, cellulaires et moléculaires propres à sa tumeur.

Pour mettre toutes les chances de notre coté, nous avons établi un partenariat avec Marseille Immunopole et sa plateforme MI-mAbs pour la découverte, le développement et la validation de nouveaux biomarqueurs facilitant la prédiction de la réponse à une thérapeutique donnée, le suivi ou l’évaluation pronostique des tumeurs.

#clinique #recherche