FR EN
Share this page

Éric VIVIER

DVM, PhD

    Marseille Immunopole Coordinator | Hospital Practitioner at APHM | Professor of Immunology at Aix-Marseille University | Cofounder and Chief Scientific Officer of Innate Pharma

AMU, AP-HM, CIML, INNATE PHARMA

Marseille Immunopole is born from the will of all partners to do even better and progress faster, and thus allow patients always to keep one step ahead of the disease.

At the end of 2013, Science Magazine designated immunotherapy as the major medical breakthrough of the year. Since then, the success of this new anti-cancer weapon has not been contradicted and tomorrow patients with inflammatory diseases should, in turn, benefit from this approach.

Today, our city is at the forefront of this revolution. Together, Marseille researchers, physicians and industry leaders have contributed and still contribute to the discovery, development and clinical evaluation of  immunotherapy antibodies. They also develop diagnostic tools that should allow customisation of these drugs and an approach that many consider the next frontier of immunotherapy: cell therapies.
With my colleagues, I have already participated in the first part of this adventure: CIML contributed to NK immunotherapy developed by Innate Pharma, I myself cofounded the company in 1999 and created a laboratory at the Conception Hospital dedicated to the exploration of these lymphocytes. Lastly, with other immunology teachers of Aix-Marseille University, we also provide research, clinics and industry with new talents.

Marseille Immunopole is born from the will of all partners to do even better and progress faster, and thus allow patients always to keep one step ahead of the disease.

#industry

FR EN
Partager cette page

Éric VIVIER

DVM, PhD

    Coordinateur de Marseille Immunopôle | Praticien Hospitalier à l’APHM | Professeur d'Immunologie à Aix-Marseille Université | Cofondateur et Directeur Scientifique d'Innate Pharma

AMU, AP-HM, CIML, INNATE PHARMA

Marseille Immunopôle est née de la volonté de tous les partenaires de faire encore mieux et plus vite et permettent ainsi aux patients de conserver toujours un temps d’avance sur la maladie.

Fin 2013, la prestigieuse revue américaine Science désignait l’immunothérapie comme l’avancée médicale majeure de l’année. Depuis cette date, le succès de cette nouvelle arme anti-cancer ne s’est pas démenti et demain les patients atteints de maladies inflammatoires devraient à leur tour bénéficier de cette approche.

Aujourd’hui notre ville est à la pointe de cette révolution. Ensemble, les chercheurs, les cliniciens et les industriels marseillais ont contribué et contribuent encore à la découverte, la mise au point et l’évaluation clinique de ces anticorps d’immunothérapie. Ils développent aussi des outils diagnostiques qui devraient permettre de personnaliser ces médicaments et une approche que beaucoup considèrent comme la prochaine frontière de l’immunothérapie : les thérapies cellulaires.

Avec mes collègues, j’ai déjà participé au premier volet de cette aventure : le CIML a contribué aux immunothérapies NK développées par Innate Pharma, j’ai moi même cofondé la société en 1999 et créé à l’hôpital de la Conception un laboratoire spécialisé dans l’exploration de ces lymphocytes. Enfin, avec les autres enseignants d’immunologie d’Aix-Marseille Université nous faisons aussi en sorte d’alimenter la science, la clinique et l’industrie en nouveaux talents. Marseille Immunopôle est née de la volonté de tous les partenaires de faire encore mieux et plus vite et permettent ainsi aux patients de conserver toujours un temps d’avance sur la maladie.

#industry