FR EN

Fabrice BARLESI

MD, PhD

    Professor of Medicine at Aix-Marseille University | Medical Director of Gustave Roussy Institute | Coordinator of the Pioneer Project RHU

AMU, Gustave Roussy, The Pioneer Project

MI both accelerates research and development in immuno-oncology and offers cancer patients more options in terms of diagnostics and treatments, as well as more innovative clinical trials.

In less than a decade, cancer diagnosis and treatment has progressed considerably. As in many other cancers, “histologic historical classification” of lung tumors into sub-types (squamous cell, adenocarcinoma, large or small carcinoma cells) was disrupted by the advent of molecular profiling. Today, more than a dozen forms of lung tumors have been identified based on molecular alterations leading to bio-guided treatments, marketed or under development, with a significant improvement in survival. Furthermore, by unlocking the immune system of patients, new immunotherapy antibodies have allowed spectacular survival rates in some advanced forms of cancer.

Today, the goal is to optimize and accelerate the research and development of these innovations, starting with immunotherapies. To date, only about 20% patients respond to these treatments. Together with researchers and industrials, we are seeking ways to identify the responders in advance using biomarkers, to understand the mechanisms of resistance to first generation immunotherapy antibodies (the PD1(L1) immune checkpoint inhibitors) and test new therapeutic combinations able to circumvent these resistances. In this context, I have been coordinating since 2017 the RHU The Pioneer Project, a major international research project amounting to €25.5 million that brings together 3 countries, more than 100 scientists, 8 research laboratories and 11 hospital centers.

At the interface between the laboratory and the patient’s bed, these projects require expertise and interdisciplinarity; bringing them together is the main objective of the Marseille Immunopole collective. MI allows to accelerate research and development in immuno-oncology and to offer cancer patients more options in terms of diagnostics and treatments, as well as more innovative clinical trials.

#clinique

FR EN
Partager cette page

Fabrice BARLESI

MD, PhD

    Professeur de médecine à Aix-Marseille Université | Directeur Médical de l’Institut Gustave Roussy | Coordinateur du RHU The Pioneer Project

AMU, Gustave Roussy, The Pioneer Project

MI contribue à accélérer la recherche et le développement en immuno-oncologie, et proposer plus d'options thérapeutiques et diagnostiques et plus d’essais cliniques innovants aux patients atteints de cancer.

En moins d’une décennie, le diagnostic et le traitement des cancers ont considérablement progressé. Comme dans beaucoup d’autres cancers, la « classification historique » histologique des cancers du poumon en sous types (épidermoïdes, adénocarcinomes, carcinomes à grandes ou petites cellules) a été bouleversée par l’avènement du profilage moléculaire. Ainsi plus d’une dizaine de formes de cancers bronchiques a été identifiée sur la base d’anomalies moléculaires conduisant à des traitements bio-guidés commercialisés ou en cours de développement avec une amélioration significative de la survie. Par ailleurs, en déverrouillant leur système immunitaire des patients, les nouveaux anticorps d’immunothérapie ont permis à leur tour d’obtenir des gains de survie parfois spectaculaires dans certaines formes avancées de cancers du poumon.

L’objectif est désormais d’optimiser et d’accélérer la recherche et le développement de ces innovations, notamment des immunothérapies. À ce jour, seuls environ 20% des patients répondent à ces traitements. Avec les chercheurs et les industriels nous cherchons les moyens d’identifier par avance, à l’aide de biomarqueurs, les patients répondeurs et de comprendre les mécanismes de résistance à la première génération d’anticorps d’immunothérapie (les inhibiteurs du point de contrôle immunitaire PD1/L1)  et testons de nouvelles combinaisons thérapeutiques à même de lever ces résistances. Dans ce cadre, je coordonne depuis 2017, le RHU The Pioneer Project, un grand projet international de recherche d’un montant de 25,5 millions d’euros qui mobilise 3 pays, plus de 100 scientifiques, 8 laboratoires de recherche et 11 centres hospitaliers.

À l’interface du laboratoire et du lit du patient, ces projets exigent beaucoup d’expertises et d’interdisciplinarité. C’est tout le sens du collectif Marseille Immunopole. MI contribue à accélérer la recherche et le développement en immuno-oncologie, et proposer plus d’options thérapeutiques et diagnostiques et plus d’essais cliniques innovants aux patients atteints de cancer.

#clinique