FR EN

Michel AURRAND-LIONS

PhD

    Head of “Leuko/Stromal interactions in normal and pathological hematopoiesis“ team at the CRCM | Head of Experimental Histo-Pathology platform at the IPC/CRCM |

AMU, IPC, CRCM

Our study models help to identify new potential therapeutic targets in preclinical models of personalized medicine.

Hematopoiesis is the continuous, dynamic and physiological process that ensures the daily production of some 400 billion cells of our blood, a huge activity carried out by a small population of bone marrow cells: hematopoietic stem cells. Since 2012, my laboratory has attempted to understand more about the abnormalities of this process involved in several severe illnesses like Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) or Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL) through research programs conducted in partnership with the translational medicine team in Hematology led by Professor Vey at the IPC.

By drawing on innovative imaging technological platforms and single-cell molecular biology, we develop animal models to characterize the interactions between normal or pathological hematopoietic stem cells and the medullary microenvironment. These interactions being the cause of resistance to therapies among patients with leukemia, our study models help to identify new potential therapeutic targets in preclinical models of personalized medicine.

This approach at the interface of clinical, academic and translational research that is very dear to Marseille Immunopole must lead to the setting up of new adjuvant therapeutic strategies to reduce the resistance to therapies and the frequent relapses in these illnesses.

#clinic #recherche

FR EN
Partager cette page

Michel AURRAND-LIONS

PhD

    Chef de l'équipe " Interactions Leuco/Stromales dans l'hématopoïèse normale et pathologique" du CRCM | Responsable de la plateforme d’Histo-Pathologie Expérimentale IPC/CRCM |

AMU, IPC, CRCM

Nos modèles d’étude permettent d’identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques potentielles dans des modèles précliniques de médecine personnalisée.

L’hématopoïèse est le processus physiologique, dynamique et continu qui assure la production quotidienne des quelques 400 milliards de cellules de notre sang, une activité titanesque menée par une petite population de cellules de la moelle osseuse: les cellules souches hématopoïétiques. Depuis 2012, mon laboratoire tente de mieux comprendre les disfonctionnements de ce processus impliqués dans plusieurs maladies graves du sang telles que les Leucémies Aigües Myéloïdes (LAM) ou Lymphoblastiques (LAL) au travers de programmes de recherche menés en partenariat avec l’équipe de médecine translationnelle en Hématologie du Professeur Vey de l’IPC.

En nous appuyant sur des plateformes technologiques innovantes d’imagerie et de biologie moléculaire en cellules uniques, nous développons des modèles animaux afin de caractériser les interactions entre les cellules souches hématopoïétiques normales ou pathologiques et le microenvironnement médullaire. Ces interactions étant à l’origine de résistances aux traitements chez les patients leucémiques, nos modèles d’étude permettent d’identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques potentielles dans des modèles précliniques de médecine personnalisée.

Cette approche à l’interface de la clinique, de la recherche académique et translationnelle chère à Marseille Immunopole doit conduire à la mise en place de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques adjuvantes pour réduire la résistance aux traitements et les rechutes fréquentes dans ces maladies.

#recherche