FR EN

Nassima CHOUAKI BENMANSOUR

MD, PharmD, PhD

    Emergency Department, Laveran Hospital - Marseille

AP-HM | Service de Santé des Armées

Today, the Covid-19 pandemic serves as an eye-opener, once again demonstrating the strength of the Marseille Immunopôle collective

My journey in science began with studies in pharmacy in Oran, Algeria, with an experience at China Pharmaceutical University in Nankin, China. An attraction for research in immunology then led me to Paris for a Master’s degree between the University Paris 7, the Pasteur Institute and the Bichat Hospital, and to Marseille for an academic PhD at the Immunology Center of Marseille-Luminy (CIML). During my graduate training, I took part in an exchange program with Harvard Medical School. That’s where I understood how I wanted to practice science: in a common environment between clinicians and researchers that would facilitate their daily exchanges.

 

I have since trained as a medical doctor to focus on clinical research and am currently doing my residency in the emergency department of the Laveran Hospital in Marseille. The general mobilization that followed the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic quickly put us on the frontline, particularly to manage the flow of patients attending the second screening center in Marseille.

 

By cross-referencing in real time what was published in the literature and clinical data of Covid-19 patients, I understood that it was an overactive immune system, rather than the virus itself, that was causing multiple failures in the severe forms of the disease. It seemed necessary to explore the immunological profiles of patients well beyond our department. I therefore joined Explore Covid-19, a project between the AP-HM, the Laveran Hospital, Innate Pharma and the Marseille Immunopôle cluster, founded by immunology players in Marseille to accelerate translational research in the fields of immuno-oncology and inflammatory diseases. The preliminary observational study of this two-part project has already been partially completed. We are now moving on to the second part, a clinical trial named FORCE, to evaluate the ability of an anti-C5aR antibody to stop the immune storm that threatens the lives of some patients. Today, the Covid-19 pandemic serves as an eye-opener, once again demonstrating the strength of the Marseille Immunopôle collective.

#clinique

FR EN

Nassima CHOUAKI BENMANSOUR

MD, PharmD, PhD

    Service des Urgences, Hôpital Laveran-Marseille

AP-HM | Service de Santé des Armées

Aujourd’hui, la pandémie de Covid-19 fait office de révélateur en démontrant une nouvelle fois la force du collectif Marseille Immunopôle

Mon parcours a débuté par des études de pharmacie à Oran, en Algérie, avec une expérience à la China Pharmaceutical University à Nankin, en Chine. Un attrait pour la recherche en immunologie m’a ensuite conduit à Paris pour un Master entre l’Université Paris 7, l’Institut Pasteur et l’Hôpital Bichat, puis à Marseille pour une thèse de sciences au Centre d’Immunologie de Marseille-Luminy (CIML). C’est au cours de ce doctorat en immunologie, lors d’un séjour à la Harvard Medical School, que j’ai compris le contexte dans lequel je souhaitais pratiquer la science : un environnement commun entre cliniciens et chercheurs qui faciliterait leurs échanges au quotidien.

 

Aujourd’hui, j’ai rejoint le cursus de médecine pour m’orienter vers la recherche clinique et j’effectue mon internat au service des urgences de l’Hôpital Laveran à Marseille. La mobilisation générale qui a suivi l’apparition de la pandémie de Covid-19 nous a placés rapidement en première ligne notamment pour gérer le flux de patients pris en charge par le second centre de dépistage marseillais.

 

En croisant en temps réel les données bibliographiques et les données cliniques des patients Covid-19, j’ai compris que c’était l’emballement du système immunitaire, et non le virus en lui-même, qui entrainait les défaillances multiples que l’on observait dans les formes sévères de la maladie. Il semblait donc nécessaire d’explorer les profils immunologiques des patients bien au-delà de notre service. J’ai alors rejoint Explore Covid-19, un projet qui rassemble l’AP-HM, l’Hôpital Laveran, Innate Pharma et Marseille Immunopôle, le cluster fondé par les acteurs de l’immunologie marseillaise pour accélérer la recherche translationnelle dans les domaines de l’immuno-oncologie et des maladies inflammatoires. L’étude observationnelle préliminaire de ce projet à deux versants en partie achevée laisse place à l’essai clinique FORCE qui évalue la capacité de l’anticorps anti-C5aR à stopper la tempête immunitaire qui met en danger la vie de certains de nos patients. Aujourd’hui la pandémie de Covid-19 fait office de révélateur en démontrant une nouvelle fois la force du collectif Marseille Immunopôle.

#clinique