FR EN
Share this page

The Pioneer project

A major international research project in lung cancer

Immunotherapy is becoming a game-changer in the treatment of cancers, including one of the most serious: non-small-cell lung cancer (NSCLC). However to date, only 20% of these patients respond favorably to the first available immune-modulating antibodies: PD-1(L1) immune checkpoint inhibitors.

On the initiative of Marseille Immunopôle, Aix-Marseille University (AMU), Inserm and CNRS, four of their research Aix-Marseille Université (AMU), Inserm and CNRS, four of their research (CIMLCRCM) and technologiy (CIPHEMImAbs) centers, Assistance Publique Hôpitaux de Marseille (AP-HM), the Léon-Bérard Center in Lyon (CLB), Toulouse oncopole, the biotech company ImCheck Therapeutics, the two French leaders in immuno-oncology Innate Pharma (therapeutic) et HalioDx (diagnostic) and one of the worldwide leaders in the field, the biopharmaceutical group AstraZeneca, have joined forces to better understand, predict and overcome these resistances.

Winner of the 3rd University-Hospital Research in Health call for projects in the “Investments for the Future” program, this major international research project, called The Pioneer Project , was launched in November 2017. This 5-year project is coordinated by Fabrice BARLESI, Professor of Medicine at AMU, Head of multidisciplinary oncology and therapeutic innovations department at AP-HM, Coordinator of the Marseille center for early clinical assays in cancer CLIP2 and co-founder of the French cluster of immunotherapy Marseille Immunopôle.


1 Precision Immuno-Oncology for advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Patients with PD1(L1) ICI Resistance

Focus

Key figures
1,825 days, 3 countries, more than 100 scientists, 7 research labs, 4 hospitals, 25,510,000€ including 8,502,000€ of NRA funding
RHU Coordinator: Aix-Marseille Université
Clinical Trial Sponsor: Assistance Publique Hôpitaux de Marseille
Project initiator: Marseille Immunopole
Direction: Prof. Fabrice BARLESI (AP-HM, AMU)

Governance

The Pioneer Project RHI is led by a consortium bridging together Aix-Marseille Université (AMU)l’Inserm, le CNRS, Assistance Publique Hôpitaux de Marseille (AP-HM), le Léon-Bérard Center in Lyon (CLB),  ImCheck Therapeutics, Innate PharmaHalioDx and AstraZeneca.

Governance

In addition to coordinating the missions and allocating human and financial resources, the consortium manages intellectual property right sharing and is in charge of leveraging the diffusion of results obtained in the framework of the RHU. It relies on an independent Scientific Committee and a Steering Committee. The project team, led by Professor Fabrice Barlesi, coordinates and follows the advancements of the deliverables listed in the 5 workpackages of the RHU.

The Pioneer Project Team

FR EN
Partager cette page

The Pioneer Project

Un grand projet international de recherche contre le cancer du poumon

L’immunothérapie change la donne dans le traitement des cancers, y compris de l’un des plus graves d’entre eux : le cancer du poumon non à petites cellules (NSCLC). Cependant à ce jour, seuls 20% des patients répondent positivement aux premiers anticorps immuno-modulateurs disponibles : les inhibiteurs du point de contrôle immunitaire PD-1(L1).

À l’initiative du cluster français de l’immunothérapie Marseille Immunopôle, Aix-Marseille Université (AMU)l’Inserm et le CNRS, quatre de leurs centres de recherche (CIMLCRCM) et de technologies (CIPHEMImAbs), l’Assistance Publique Hôpitaux de Marseille (AP-HM), le Centre Léon-Bérard de Lyon (CLB), l’Oncopôle de Toulouse, la société de biotechnologie ImCheck Therapeutics, les deux leaders français de l’immuno-oncologie Innate Pharma (thérapeutique) et HalioDx (diagnostic) et l’un des leaders mondiaux du domaine, le groupe biopharmaceutique AstraZeneca, ont uni leurs forces pour tenter de mieux comprendre, prédire et surmonter ces résistances.

Lauréat du 3ème appel à projets Recherche Hospitalo-Universitaire en Santé du programme Investissements d’Avenir, ce grand projet international de recherche, baptisé The Pioneer Project1 a été engagé en novembre 2017. D’une durée de 5 ans, il est dirigé par Fabrice BARLESI, Professeur de Médecine à AMU, Chef du service d’oncologie multidisciplinaire et d’innovations thérapeutiques de l’AP-HM, Coordinateur du centre d’essais précoces en cancérologie de Marseille CLIP2 et co-fondateur de Marseille Immunopôle.


1 Precision Immuno-Oncology for advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Patients with PD1(L1) ICI Resistance

Repères

Chiffres clefs
1 825 jours, 3 pays, plus de 100 scientifiques, 8 laboratoires de recherche, 4 hôpitaux, 25,5 millions d’euros dont 8 502 00 euros de soutien de l’ANR
Coordinateur du RHU : Aix-Marseille Université
Promoteur de l’essai clinique : Assistance Publique Hôpitaux de Marseille
Initiateur du projet : Marseille Immunopole
Direction : Professeur Fabrice BARLESI (AP-HM, AMU)

Gouvernance

Le RHU The Pioneer Project est piloté par un consortium associant Aix-Marseille Université (AMU)l’Inserm, le CNRS, l’Assistance Publique Hôpitaux de Marseille (AP-HM), le Centre Léon-Bérard de Lyon (CLB),  ImCheck Therapeutics, Innate PharmaHalioDx et AstraZeneca.

Outre la répartition des missions, des moyens humains et financiers, le consortium règle le partage des droits de propriétés intellectuelles ainsi que la diffusion et la valorisation des résultats du RHU. Il s’appuie sur un Comité Scientifique indépendant et un Comité de Pilotage. En lien avec l’équipe projet dirigée par le Professeur Fabrice BARLESI, ce dernier coordonne et suit l’avancement des livrables inscrits dans les 5 workpackages du RHU.

L'équipe Pioneer Project